Look up an image:
Explore by theme Terre

life cycle of the frog click to hear : life cycle of the frog

The stages of development are the egg, the tadpole and the adult; each stage usually lasts several weeks, but can last up to two years in some species.
life cycle of the frog image
achat d'image achat d'image

See life cycle of the frog in : french | spanish
tadpole forelimb hind limb operculum external gills eggs

tadpole click to hear : tadpole

Aquatic larva of the frog having a large head and a slender body ending in a tail; it breathes through gills.

forelimb click to hear : forelimb

The forelimbs appear during the last stage of the tadpole’s metamorphosis.

hind limb click to hear : hind limb

The hind limbs appear after the gills.

operculum click to hear : operculum

Thin bony plate of skin covering the gills and having a posterior valvular opening, the hearing organ.

external gills click to hear : external gills

Respiratory organs that filter water and take in food particles; they are later replaced by internal gills.

eggs click to hear : eggs

Embryonic stage of the frog resulting when the egg is fertilized by the sperm.